A friendship is a mutual, two-way relationship between two users. It is initiated by one user and accepted by the other.

A contact is a one-way friendship. This could be where the other person does not accept the friendship, a friendship request is pending, or you do not wish to be friends at this time but want to show them as a contact only.

To add someone to your Friends list, go to that person's profile and click Add as Friend (on the left, under the person's profile picture) OR click on the Friends tab on that person's profile and click Befriend [username] on the right. Alternatively, go to Settings > Friends & Contacts, type in their username and click on Add Friend.

To add someone to your Contacts list, go to Settings > Friends & Contacts, type in their username and click on Add Contact.

To change someone's status from Friend to Contact or vice versa, go to Settings > Friends & Contacts, find that person's username, (un)tick the Friend box and click Save Changes. To completely remove someone from your Friends & Contacts list, uncheck both boxes for that person and click Save Changes.

When someone has added you to their Friends list, you should receive a notification. Click on it to accept or reject the request. Alternatively, you can check all pending Friend requests under Settings > Friends & Contacts, where you can either accept or reject them.

N.B. The Friends & Contacts option is restricted to Junior Members, Regulars, Staff and Funding Members. New members need to make 10 posts before this option is unlocked.