Kinism
    Religion
    Protestant
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

The Scots Language

This is my first time posting in the Scotland sub-forum. My family is a mix of English, German, and Scottish, with the majority of my family being Ulster-Scots and Lowland Scots on my mother's side (I understand them to be the same, primarily Germanic, Scots, just in different areas?). My family mistakenly called themselves Irish, however, upon some actual genealogical study, this was not the case. I have recently become very interested in Scotland, its history, culture, etc.. However, I am most interested in the Scots (Lallans/Lowland Scots) language. I have searched through the sub-forum and found some excellent links and discussions but I had a few questions I thought could only be answered by making a new thread.

I speak English as my native tongue but am also fluent in French (learned in school and college, no French ancestry) and have a working understanding of German, which I am attempting to become fluent in. I can read Old English (Anglo Saxon) too fairly well, although I would not call myself proficient yet. I'd like to add Scots to round out my languages and be able to speak all of the tongues of my heritage. I have read online that many Scots view the Scots language as just a dialect of or improper English and, as such, deride those outside the country who make attempts to learn it. From what I have read and seen of the actual language though, this could not be further from the truth.

So, how many of you in Scotland speak Scots? Would it be a worthwhile endeavor for someone outside of Scotland but with very prominent Scottish heritage to learn? Any books, poems, stories, or authors in Scots that you particularly enjoy? Feel free to converse in Scots here as well.

Last Online
    Tuesday, March 27th, 2012 @ 11:49 PM
    Ethnicity
    English
    Ancestry
    English
    Country
    England England
    State