Thread: Taxi Drivers Accused of Racism for Displaying Sign Saying They Are English Speaking

Funding Member
    Friend of Germanics
    Funding Membership Inactive
    Last Online
    1 Day Ago @ 01:45 PM
    Ethnicity
    German
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    670 Posts

Taxi Drivers Accused of Racism for Displaying Sign Saying They Are English Speaking

Daily Mail (London), February 2, 2010

A racism row has broken out after a citys taxi drivers started displaying stickers in their cars saying they are English speaking.

Up to a dozen drivers have been showing off the notices bearing the St Georges Cross on the back windows of their cars in Southampton, Hampshire.

The small red and white sticker declares the cab is being driven by an English speaking driver.

But the flags have been branded racist by trade representatives, councillors and racism campaigners who have demanded they are removed.

Taxi drivers have hit back, claiming the stickers are simply a protest to force the council to make sure new drivers can speak good English.

The stickers were placed in the cars after drivers received complaints about the standard of spoken English among them.

There have also been complaints from passengers about drivers using sat navs and over-charging.

Perry McMillan, chairman of the Southampton cab section of trade union Unite, said the groups ethnic minority members had been upset by the stickers.

He said: Surely all drivers speak English. If they dont, then whats going on?

We hope that licensing officers can investigate this and satisfy the trade that this isnt the case.

Campaign group Show Racism the Red Card demanded the stickers be taken down from the cab windows.

Chief Executive Ged Grebby said: I dont have a problem with displaying the cross of St George because this is a symbol we have managed to reclaim from the far right.

But the English speaking driver part is where it crosses the line into racism.