PDA

View Full Version : English As a Non-Native Language

Gefjon
Sunday, November 18th, 2007, 04:26 PM
Would be interesting to see how many here speak English as a native/non-native language. Almost everyone speaks great English eventhough they fly non-Anglo-Saxon country flags, I'm pleasantly surprised! :D

Dagna
Tuesday, November 27th, 2007, 07:17 PM
English is my native language. I believe it is the native language of most members of this forum but I agree with you, everyone seems to speak it without problems.

SineNomine
Tuesday, November 27th, 2007, 07:23 PM
It's my native language. I grew up in a rather English area of ZA. I didn't learn Afrikaans, and I only learnt Greek later, as a second language, and French as a third.

Fafner
Tuesday, November 27th, 2007, 07:35 PM
Mi native language is Spanish and I started learning English when I was about 7 or 8 years old. I finished the course 2 or 3 years ago (I can't remember :p) but I think you never stop learning the language, not even the mother tongue :)

Oh, I learnt both British and American English :)

Thusnelda
Tuesday, November 27th, 2007, 07:36 PM
My native language is German, English is my 2nd language. I´m making some errors while writing and speaking it.

Loyalist
Tuesday, November 27th, 2007, 07:38 PM
English is my native language; luckily coming from a strongly Anglophone family in a nation with French over-representation. If I had to count a second language, I would say German (far from fluent, however).

Schmetterling
Tuesday, January 8th, 2008, 02:23 PM
English is my second language and the language I speak best. It would be incorrect to say it is my first because my first is German. Native implies being born with it so I have a bit of trouble calling English my native language.

Siebenbürgerin
Thursday, March 20th, 2008, 01:25 PM