PDA

View Full Version : Which Old Indo-European Languages do you speak/can you understand?

Shapur
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 06:11 PM
Which old Indo-European languages do you speak/can you understand?

Evolved
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 06:44 PM
Is English "old?"

I can read a little German, Dutch, little bit of Russian and Romanian. I used to be able to speak French, but all I remember really are the numbers, days, months, random words and alphabet.. I'm currently studying a non-IndoEuropean language, Hungarian. :devil

Siegfried
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 07:03 PM
Dutch and English. German I can read, but I'm not so good at writing and speaking it. I have some rudimentary knowledge of Latin, French, and ancient Greek.
What exactly do you mean by 'old' though? I suppose at least Latin and ancient Greek qualify.

Phlegethon
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 07:07 PM
Hungarian is not a language, but a throat disease. Same with Finnish and Basque. ;)

Phlegethon
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 07:10 PM
I speak or at least halfway understand German, English, Dutch, Koine, Latin and Spanish.

Shapur
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 07:18 PM
I can Avestan, Persian*, English, German*, Italian, Kurdish*.
Beside these I learn Latin*, Russian, Arabic and French.
Later I will also do my Doctor in Iranian languages. ;)
*=These languages I love

Phlegethon
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 07:25 PM
How about Sanskrit, Farsi and Urdu?

Shapur
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 07:29 PM
How about Sanskrit, Farsi and Urdu?

Farsi is Persian. Modern Persian changed the general Persian P->F.
Parsi->Farsi
Urdu I understand a bit, because it has so many Iranian loanwords.
Sanskrit to Avestan is the same as Dutch to German.

Phlegethon
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 07:33 PM
Sanskrit to Avestan is the same as Dutch to German.
Sure about that?

Shapur
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 07:37 PM
Sure about that?

Yes, but what is Koine?

Siegfried
Tuesday, December 14th, 2004, 07:38 PM