PDA

View Full Version : What Kind of Dog Breed Do You Recommend?

ProEuropa
Wednesday, June 7th, 2017, 11:39 PM
I'm interested in raising a dog, that is suited for life on the countryside. The ideal is a guard dog, capable of scaring and fending of potential trespassers, while being capable of being around small children.

I'm not very experienced with dogs, only have a few relatives who have ones, so any help is appreciated.

Mrs vonTrep
Thursday, June 8th, 2017, 03:33 AM
Dogue de Bordeaux. Big but not too big, very calm and quiet but barks when there's a good reason for it. Very much a guard dog that stays close to home (good yard dog). Stable temperament (unlike the german shepard stock in Sweden), short hair that doesn't require any maintenance, a massive gorgeous head and yellow eyes that will scare people away just by lookinng at it.

It's a very impressive breed, so calm and mellow and very, very patient with kids and adults. You can do anything to them and they just take it, never any aggression or the like against people they know.

Downside: they drool after they had food and/or water (our DDBs eat and drink outdoors and have their lips cleaned when they come inside, that way we never have any issues with the drool). Stubborn at times, like most dogs of "bull" breeds.

Definitely recommend!

SpearBrave
Thursday, June 8th, 2017, 03:42 AM
I can't think of time when there was not a dog in my life. I raised and trained hunting dogs for years and for what you are wanting I would not recommend any popular hunting breeds, most of them are just too nice in most cases.

There was one breed that was really good and protective of children and family that I always liked. The are called Blue Healers, they are from Australia, but have become real popular here in America, at least for rural people. They do many of the things you are looking for. They are known for their bite more than their bark. In fact I don't think they bark much at all.