PDA

View Full Version : Raising Live Insect from a Live Insect Kit?

Ewergrin
Sunday, November 28th, 2004, 02:06 AM
Has anyone ever raised live insects from a live insect kit?
My son received a live Painted Lady Butterfly kit for his sixth birthday a few weeks ago.
We sent off for the free live caterpillars and they arrived last week.
The gestation period lasts for about three weeks and they will become beautiful Painted Lady butterflies. We have had them less than a week, if I recall, and they have grown at least 25 times in size since their arrival.

They are starting to migrate towards the cop of the container. Once they reach it, they will hang down and form into chrysalides. It is during this period that they will form into Painted Lady butterflies.

I took pictures, but unfortunately I am no expert, and cannot figure out how do adjust the lighting so that the best pictures possible could be taken.

I will update this thread with their progress.

Ewergrin
Sunday, November 28th, 2004, 02:07 AM
The kit we have can be purchased through http://www.insectlore.com

Ewergrin
Monday, November 29th, 2004, 01:42 AM
Update:

Our cat accidently knocked over our little caterpillar habitat jar. The web of silk they had been working on collapsed. Ever since then, they have been acting rather oddly. At times they seem to fight each other. I have not witnessed them do this before. Perhaps this behaviour is normal, seeing as they very close to migrating to the top of the container and forming chrysalides.

WarMaiden
Monday, November 29th, 2004, 04:18 PM
Yikes i have no idea what to tell you, maybe you should email the people for the www you posted... When they hatch what are you supposed to then do with them? Set them free?

Strange Strange Strange

Ewergrin
Monday, November 29th, 2004, 05:41 PM
Yikes i have no idea what to tell you, maybe you should email the people for the www you posted... When they hatch what are you supposed to then do with them? Set them free?